You can temporarily turn off cellular data to prevent apps from using the cellular network to send or receive data. Here's what happens when you turn off cellular data:
- You won't see the cellular data icons in the status bar (for example, LTE or 3G).
- You won't be able to send or receive MMS messages. You can still send and receive SMS and iMessages (text or multimedia) when connected to a Wi-Fi network.
- You won't be able to retrieve or listen to new Visual Voicemail messages.
- You won't be able to use Personal Hotspot.
To turn off cellular data, go to Settings > Cellular on your iPhone or Settings > Cellular Data on your iPad, then tap Cellular Data.
Current Period under Cellular Data Usage is an accumulation of your data used since the last time the stats were reset. You can tap Reset Statistics at the bottom of the screen.
When you turn off cellular data, your data services like email, web browsing, push notifications, and others will use Wi-Fi. When you turn on cellular data, you might be charged for using certain features and services that transfer data, such as Siri and Messages.
Depending on your carrier and device model, you might have additional options:
- Enable LTE or 3G.
- Turn Voice Roaming on or off (CDMA): Turn Voice Roaming off to avoid charges from using other carrier's networks. When your carrier's network isn't available, your device won't have cellular (data or voice) service.
- Turn Data Roaming on or off: Data roaming allows you to access the Internet over a cellular data network when you're in an area that isn't covered by your carrier's network.
- When you're traveling internationally, you can turn off data roaming to avoid roaming charges.
- Depending on your carrier, data roaming might be used if you travel domestically. Contact your carrier for more information about your data roaming policy.